Vision Statement of the Commission:

“Rooted in God’s life and love we, the Faith and Justice Commission come together to:-

•Be active in promoting justice, love and peace
•Identify the tensions experienced by people as they live their faith
•Support, nurture and celebrate each other”

The Commission takes its vision from a number of sources:-

•The person, life and words of Jesus
•The Vatican Council teachings
•The social teachings of the Church
•The document from the European Ecumenical Asembly of 1989

called “Justice and Peace for the Whole Creation”

The Faith and Justice Commission works with parishes, schools and youth groups throughout the Diocese, is involved in campaigning and awareness raising, organises conferences and reflection days, and he office stocks resources and information about justice and peace issues and campaigns. It produces 6 newsletters a year.

The Commission has a rolling membership of volunteers from across the Diocese.

Commission President: Rt Rev Michael Campbell OSA

Chair: Rev Hugh Pollock

Commission Members: Patrick Rooney (Vice-Chair), The Rev Anthony Gaskin, Jeremy Prall, Mary Tuffin, Patrick Hynes, Ruth Clarke, Shirelle Cooper, Sr Anthony McDonald, Arthur Milton, Terry Mattinson, Francis Katamba

Administrative Assistant: Margaret McSherry.

St Bernadette’s Parish House,
Bowerham Road,

Tel: 01524 383081

Members of the Commission represent all areas of the Diocese.

CAFOD Office (Lancaster Diocese)

CAFOD Lancaster  
St Walburge’s Centre, St Walburge’s Gardens, Preston. PR2 2QJ
Tel: 01772 733 310     Mob: 07779 804 246