Property Manager: Mr Ken Dennis

Tel: 01524 596061

Email: ken.dennis@lancasterrcdiocese.org.uk

Property Administrator: Mrs Rachel Whittle

Tel: 01524 596060

Email: rachel.whittle@lancasterrcdiocese.org.uk

Useful Property Documents:

New Halls Policy – March 2015
Diocese of Lancaster Health and Safety Policy Sept 2014
Winter 2012 Risk Management Bulletin
Periodic Electrical Inspection NotesNovember 2011
Recommendations for List of Contractors (word) – November 2010
Parish Property Management Guide 
Health and Safety Statement 
Managing_Asbestos_in_Buildings_2012 (pdf)
VAT Relief – Eligibility Declaration (word)
Request to Purchase Equipment (pdf)
Property Form: buying, leasing or selling (word)
Property Repairs or improvements (word)
Fire Regulations (word)
guide to gas safety (Landlord) (pdf)
guide to gas safety checks (Resident).pdf
English Heritage advice on lead theft (pdf)
English Heritage procurement of consultants(word)


The Property Committee (A sub-Committee of the Trustees)      (Terms of Reference)

Canon D Cooper VG (Chair); Canon Peter Draper; Canon Robert Dewhurst; Canon Harry Doyle; Paul Lovell; Bernard Richardson; Richard Carradice; Ken Dennis; Rachel Whittle (Minute Secretary)

Date of

Trustee Meeting

Date of Property


Deadline for Full Papers
23rd September 2015 15th September 2015
3rd November 2015 21st October 2015 13th October 2015
18th November 2015 10th November 2015
12th January 2016 16th December 2015 8th December 2015
20th January 2016 12th January 2016
17th February 2016 9th February 2016

Historic Churches Committee

(Applicable to Listed Buildings and Buildings in a Conservation Area)
Under the ecclesiastical exemption provisions of the Town and Country Planning Act, listed churches are exempt from the requirement to obtain Listed Building Consent from their Local Authority for works of repair and refurbishment, providing they obtain approval from the Historic Churches Committee.

One Committee serves the four Dioceses of Lancaster, Liverpool, Salford and Shrewsbury and operates from:

47 Southport Road

The Secretary is John Cowdall who can also be contacted on 01257 277128 if advice is needed on whether works do or do not require an application to the Committee.

Email: johncowdall@jca-chorley.freeserve.co.uk

The Committee meets quarterly in January, April, July and October, and because of the consultation arrangements laid down in the regulations, applications need to be with the Secretary at least five weeks before a meeting. Separate arrangements exist for emergency repairs, and you should contact the Secretary for advice when this is necessary.

This is a statutory body, and as a Church we are under an obligation to adhere to the rules. Failure to do this will mean that we will lose all right to ecclesiastical exemption, and we will then be forced to make a full application to the Local Authority before any works can be undertaken.

Committee Members:

Rev Canon Brendan Alger (Chair); Revv Anthony O’Brien; Peter Draper (for the Diocese of Lancaster ); Peter Dutton; John Feeney; Thomas Mulhearn; Michael Phillips, OSB; Messrs Joe Burke; Peter De Figueiredo; Michael Hartley; Peter Hoey; Stephen Sartin; Joseph Sharples; Professor John Tam DL, MBE; Sister Anthony Wilson OBE. Secretary: Mr John Cowdall