Safeguarding Commission




The Safeguarding Commission
The Safeguarding Commission is appointed by The Bishop and has advisory, support and monitoring responsibilities in relation to safeguarding people within the diocese and our aligned religious congregations. The Commission is accountable to The Bishop and The Trustees who hold overall responsibility for safeguarding within the Diocese. The Diocese of Lancaster is committed to following National Catholic Policies & Procedures

The Commission does this by:-

• Maintaining general oversight of the work undertaken by the Safeguarding Office
• Promoting a safeguarding culture and safer environments in parish activities and all apostolic works within the diocese.
• Ensuring timely and appropriate responses to allegations and concerns. Working with statutory agencies as required.
• Ensuring that the voice of complainants, victims and survivors are heard and responded to.
• Making recommendations to manage potential and known risks
• Advising on progress with work plans, safeguarding strategies – as necessary and by providing an annual report.

Members of the Commission are independent and bring a range of professional knowledge and current or recent experience.

  Chair  Charles Proctor    Local Authority-Children’s’ Services
•    Anne Stewart  SHCJ     Female Religious Orders
•    Chris Cousens             Diocesan Clergy
•    Jayne Clarke                Law
•    Liam Finnerty OCD      Male Religious Orders
•    Jane Newton                Police
•    Catherine Walsh          Education and Young People
•    Susan Greenwood        Health and Law

Commission Link Persons/Advisors

•    David Hogan                Canon Law
•    Paul Embery                 Bishops Link Person /Representative


Chair of Safeguarding Commission c/o Safeguarding Office, The Education Centre, Balmoral Road , Lancaster , LA1 3BT

Tel:- 01524 841190 ext 2056

More on Safeguarding in the Diocese of Lancaster